What are the languages of South India?

What are the languages of South India?

Telugu language
TamilKannadaMalayalamEnglish Language
South India/Official languages

The majority of the people in South India speak at least one of the four major Dravidian languages: Telugu, Tamil, Kannada, and Malayalam. Some states and union territories also recognize a minority language: such as Urdu in Telangana, and French in Puducherry. Tulu is the next most spoken Dravidian language.

What names mean lion?

Popular Girls’ Baby Names Meaning Lion

  • Amandala (African origin) meaning ‘power’.
  • Aria (Hebrew origin) meaning ‘a lioness’.
  • Aeriela (Hebrew origin) meaning ‘a lioness’.
  • Athaleyah (Hebrew origin) meaning ‘Lioness of God’.
  • Hafsa (Arabic origin) meaning ‘little lioness’.
  • Kiara (Celtic origin) meaning ‘lion’s daughter’.
READ:   Is the Parthenon in Greece or Rome?

What is a good name for a lion?

Here are some great lion names from cinema to consider.

  • Simba.
  • Nala.
  • Mufasa.
  • Scar.
  • Sarabi.
  • Zuba.
  • Alex.
  • Aslan.

What is Lion called in Sanskrit?

Wild Animals in Sanskrit :

English Lion
Sanskrit सिंहः
IAST transliteration siṃhaḥ
Hindi शेर

Which came first Tamil or Telugu?

According to experts, the Telugu script evolved over a period of time – the mother script of Telugu and Kannada being the same. The script began evolving from the time of the Mauryan Empire. Those who argue that Telugu is older than Tamil, peg the date of origin of Telugu to at least 1000 years BCE (3000 years old).

Which Indian language is not spoken in all parts of India?

But still there is not a single Indian language that is spoken across its length and breadth. Hindi is spoken by a majority of North Indians, but it is not a popular means of communication in the southern part of India. Similarly, South Indian languages such as Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam are not understood by the people of North India.

READ:   What other disorders are associated with autism?

Why are there 22 official languages in India?

Similarly, South Indian languages such as Tamil, Telugu, and Malayalam are not understood by the people of North India. For the convenience of people, the Constitution of India has recognised 22 languages as the official languages of India. These are known as Scheduled Languages and constitute the major languages of the country.

What is the original name of the Malayalam language?

At that time the language was known by the name Kerala Bhasha. The named identity of this language appears to have come into existence only around the 16th century, when it was known as “Malayayma” or “Malayanma”; the words were also used to refer to the script and the region.

Which Indian language has the largest number of letters in it?

With a total of 52 letters, the Malayalam script has the largest number of letters among Indian language orthographies. The oldest literary work in Malayalam, distinct from the Tamil tradition, is dated from between the 9th and 11th centuries.

READ:   How did people call for help before cell phones?